Health & Food

How to Cater a Gluten Free Party

Gluten-free diets aren’t a fad, but a way to avoid the sensitivity to gluten proteins found in wheat and other grains. Catering a gluten-free party is possible thanks to the best gluten free pizza crust and a little ingenuity. Stay away from flour, oats, pasta and other grains. That leaves a lot of ingredients that can be made into delicious party food.

Appetizers For a Gluten-Free Party

Roasted wings without sauce (or breading) are just meat, making them safe for gluten-free diets. Wings are a great appetizer for any party, from tailgating to a baby shower. For a little more variety, you can include a tray of raw veggies with gluten-free dips, hummus, baba ganoush, cheesy nacho dip (check the seasonings for gluten) and spinach and artichoke dip. You can find a good assortment of gluten-free chips and breads to go with the dips.

Gluten-Free Pizza

Gluten-free and vegan pizza delivery is just a call or a few finger clicks away. Papa John’s offers a gluten-free pizza crust, made from sorghum, teff, amaranth and quinoa. Get it with all your favorite toppings, except meatballs, and you’ve got an easy pizza entrée for a crowd of any size. Pizza sauce, cheese, most meats and vegetables are naturally gluten-free. With delivery, you can easily cater a party that accommodates your gluten-free friends.

Desserts at Your Gluten-Free Party

Gluten-free desserts might be a little more difficult to find, but not impossible. A plate of fruit with gluten-free cookies and marshmallows next to a bowl of warm, melted chocolate sauce would make anyone happy. Ice cream is another gluten-free dessert, just make sure to check the ingredient list. Single flavors without add-ins, like cookie-dough or sprinkles are generally more likely to be gluten-free. Want to bump up the fun? Include whipped cream, maraschino cherries, and other toppings to transform plain ice cream into a sundae bar.

Drinks For Your Gluten-Free Crowd

Most sodas are gluten-free, but always check the list of ingredients. Beers are more likely to contain gluten, but some companies are making gluten-free beer. Hard apple cider can be a good alternative. Wines usually do not contain gluten-based products, nor do a lot of liquors, such a vodka, scotch, gin and some whiskey. Infused water or club soda and juice are inherently without gluten.

Check the Ingredient List

Gluten can be quite elusive. It hides in many products under different names. If you’re trying to avoid gluten for a friend, you may want to check with that person about some things to avoid. You may also want to talk about cross-contamination and how to avoid inadvertently getting gluten into a gluten-free menu item. The less processed the food, the less likely it contains hidden gluten. Soy sauce and salad dressings often include hidden gluten, as do hot dogs.

You may have to be a little more cautious when ordering gluten-free menu items for your party, but in today’s marketplace, you have many options for a gluten-free party. Find pizza deals tonight to keep your guests happy, no matter what diet they need. It’s easy to order gluten-free pizza for a crowd.

About author


Hi, my name is Rebecca Houston and I am a writer. I write about health, healthy food and daily meal plan for various websites.
healthy food

Leave a Reply